Welcome

The Institut für Diabetes-Technologie (IfDT) is a research institute, specialized on clinical research in the area of diabetes mellitus.

Our aim is to support and promote research and development of technologies in the area of diabetes. With our work we want to contribute to making life for people with diabetes easier. 

We are pleased that you visit our new website

At the Institut für Diabetes-Technologie (IfDT), we conduct clinical trials with medical devices in a welcoming, familiar atmosphere and offer our international customers expertise in all parts of clinical studies: starting from planning and designing over conduction up to publishing the study results.

In addition, we perform research on our own behalf regarding different aspects of diabetes.

Taken all this together made us a globally recognized and acknowledged research institute in the area of diabetes technology.     

More About Us

You are interested in taking part in a study?

We are happy if you want to actively support us in our research for the benefit of people with diabetes mellitus type 1 or type 2.

Here you can inform yourself about general conditions, procedures and prerequisites for study participation.

You want to know more about us?

Over the years the institute has grown to a worldwide recognized and acknowledged study site. Here you can learn more about our work and the institute.

You are interested in working with us?

We are always looking for motivated and committed employees who want to promote technology and research together with us. Here you can read more about the benefits we offer as an employer and our current job offers.

Current Publications

November 2022 - CGM

Continuous Glucose Deviation Interval and Variability Analysis (CG-DIVA): A Novel Approach for the Statistical Accuracy Assessment of Continuous Glucose Monitoring Systems

The accuracy of CGM systems is communicated in the literature by many different ways of presentation, which limits comparability. As part of our collaboration with the Diabetes Center Berne to support the work of the IFCC working group on CGM, we have developed a new statistical method for evaluating and presenting the accuracy of CGM systems. This clearly provides all relevant information for assessing accuracy.

November 2022 - CGM

A Statistical Approach for Assessing the Compliance of Integrated Continuous Glucose Monitoring Systems with Food and Drug Administration Accuracy Requirements

To demonstrate compliance with US FDA requirements for "integrated" CGM systems, confidence intervals for agreement rates must be calculated. We have identified a suitable method for this and provide a tool for calculation. This work has been done in cooperation with the Diabetes Center Berne in support of the work of the IFCC Working Group on CGM.

October 2022 - Glucose measurement

Improving the Bias of Comparator Methods in Analytical Performance Assessments Through Recalibration

Comparative measurements, e.g. for CGM studies, can be retrospectively improved by different approaches and thus lead to more consistent study results. We have developed a suitable approach for this within the framework of our cooperation with the Diabetes Center Berne to support the work of the IFCC working group on CGM.

Latest Congress Contributions

24. - 26. November 2022

Autumn Meeting of the German Diabetes Association (DDG) in Wiesbaden

Dr. Freckmann and Dr. Stefan Pleus spoke at the KLD symposium as part of the autumn conference on diabetology & angiology. In the subsequent symposium of the AGDT on the topic of Automatic Insulin Dosing (AID), Dr. Stefan Pleus presented the basics of blood glucose measurement, continuous glucose measurement, and insulin pumps.

3. - 5. November 2022

Virtual Diabetes Technology Meeting

Dr. Freckmann presented a talk abot the latest news from the IFCC working group at the workshop "Measurement of glucose, insulin and ketones". In the poster session on November 10, we were allowed to present three contributions.

13. - 14. Oktober 2022

Annual Meeting of the German Association for Clinical Chemistry ans Laboratory Medicine in Mannheim

The Institute presented with two posters at the 17th Annual Meeting of the German Society for Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine together with the 4th Symposium for Biomedical Analysis of the DVTA (Dachverband für Technologologen/-innen und Analytiker/-innen in der Medizin Deutschland e.V.). Under the guiding theme "Laboratory Medicine Accompanies Life", we presented two posters and Dr. Freckmann gave a talk.

Please feel free to contact us

We are happy if you want to actively support us in our research for the benefit of people with diabetes type 1 or type 2.
In this way, you are making your own personal contribution to improving medical care.
We are looking forward to meet you!

To improve the reader-friendliness of our website, we use the generic masculine. In the context of equal treatment, we would like to point out that the content of our website is aimed at all genders and does not contain any valuation.

Herzlich Willkommen

Das Institut für Diabetes-Technologie (IfDT) ist ein Forschungsinstitut, spezialisiert auf klinische Forschung im Bereich Diabetes mellitus.

Unser Ziel ist es, die Forschung und die Entwicklung von Technologien im Bereich Diabetes zu begleiten und voranzubringen. Als Prüfzentrum möchten wir mit unserer Arbeit dazu beitragen, das Leben von Menschen mit Diabetes zu erleichtern.

Wir freuen uns, dass Sie unsere neue Webseite besuchen

Wir am Institut für Diabetes-Technologie (IfDT) führen in familiärer Atmosphäre klinische Studien mit Medizinprodukten durch und bieten unseren internationalen Kunden dabei Expertise von der Planung über die Durchführung bis hin zur Veröffentlichung der Studienergebnisse.

Zudem forschen wir auch in eigenem Interesse an unterschiedlichen Fragestellungen. Durch unsere Arbeit sind wir zu einem weltweit bekannten und anerkannten Institut im Bereich der Diabetestechnologieforschung geworden.

Mehr zu uns

Sie haben Interesse an einer Studienteilnahme?

Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie uns aktiv bei der Forschung zum Wohle von Menschen mit Diabetes mellitus Typ 1 und Typ 2 unterstützen wollen.

Damit leisten Sie Ihren ganz persönlichen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der medizinischen Versorgung. Informieren Sie sich hier über die Rahmenbedingungen, Abläufe und Voraussetzungen einer Studienteilnahme.

Sie möchten mehr über uns wissen?

Das Institut hat sich im Laufe der Jahre zu einem weltweit bekannten und anerkannten Prüfzentrum entwickelt. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über unsere Arbeit und das Institut.

Sie interessieren sich für uns als Arbeitgeber?

Wir sind immer auf der Suche nach engagierten und motivierten Mitarbeitern, die mit uns Technologie und Forschung voranbringen möchten. Lesen Sie hier mehr über unsere Vorteile als Arbeitgeber und offene Stellenangebote.

Aktuelle Publikationen

November 2022 - CGM

Continuous Glucose Deviation Interval and Variability Analysis (CG-DIVA): A Novel Approach for the Statistical Accuracy Assessment of Continuous Glucose Monitoring Systems

Die Genauigkeit von CGM-Systemen wird in der Literatur durch viele verschiedene Darstellungsweisen kommuniziert, wodurch die Vergleichbarkeit eingeschränkt wird. Im Rahmen unserer Kooperation mit dem Diabetes Center Berne zur Unterstützung der Arbeit der IFCC Arbeitsgruppe zu CGM haben wir eine neue statistische Methode zur Auswertung und Darstellung der Genauigkeit von CGM-Systemen entwickelt. Diese liefert übersichtlich alle relevanten Informationen zur Beurteilung der Genauigkeit.

November 2022 - CGM

A Statistical Approach for Assessing the Compliance of Integrated Continuous Glucose Monitoring Systems with Food and Drug Administration Accuracy Requirements

Um die Erfüllung der Vorgaben der US FDA für „integrierte“ CGM-Systeme nachzuweisen, müssen Konfidenzintervalle für Agreement Rates berechnet werden. Wir haben ein geeignetes Verfahren dafür identifiziert und stellen ein Tool zur Berechnung zur Verfügung. Diese Arbeit ist in Kooperation mit dem Diabetes Center Berne zur Unterstützung der Arbeit der IFCC Arbeitsgruppe zu CGM entstanden.

Oktober 2022 - Glukosemessung

Improving the Bias of Comparator Methods in Analytical Performance Assessments Through Recalibration

Vergleichsmessungen, z. B. für CGM-Studien, können durch verschiedene Vorgehensweisen retrospektiv verbessert werden und so zu einheitlicheren Untersuchungsergebnissen führen. Wir haben im Rahmen unserer Kooperation mit dem Diabetes Center Berne zur Unterstützung der Arbeit der IFCC Arbeitsgruppe zu CGM eine geeignete Vorgehensweise dafür entwickelt.

Rückblick Kongressbeiträge

24. - 26. November 2022

Herbsttagung der Deutschen Diabetes Gesellschaft in Wiesbaden

Im Rahmen der Herbsttagung zum Thema Diabetologie & Angiologie referierten Herr Dr. Freckmann und Herr Dr. Stefan Pleus im KLD-Symposium. Im anschließenden Symposium der AGDT zum Thema Automatische Insulin-Dosierungs-(AID) Systeme stellte Herr Dr. Stefan Pleus die Grundlagen zur Blutglukosemessung, der kontinuierlichen Glukosemessung, sowie zu Insulinpumpen vor.

3. - 5. November 2022

Virtuelles Diabetes Technology Meeting

Herr Dr. Freckmann hielt im Rahmen des Workshops "Measurement of glucose, insulin and ketones" einen Vortrag über aktuelles aus der IFCC-Arbeitsgruppe. In der Poster-Session am 10. November durften wir drei Beiträge präsentieren.

13. - 14. Oktober 2022

Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin in Mannheim

Das Institut war mit zwei Postern bei der 17. Jahrestagung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin gemeinsam mit der 4. Fachtagung für Biomedizinische Analytik des DVTA (Dachverband für Technologen/-innen und Analytiker/-innen in der Medizin Deutschland e.V.) dabei. Unter dem Leitthema "Laboratoriumsmedizin begleitet Leben" stellten wir zwei Poster vor und Herr Dr. Freckmann hielt einen Vortrag.

Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne

Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie uns aktiv bei der Forschung zum Wohle von Menschen mit Diabetes mellitus Typ 1 und Typ 2 unterstützen wollen.
Damit leisten Sie Ihren ganz persönlichen Beitrag zur Verbesserung der medizinischen Versorgung.
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Zur Verbesserung der Lesefreundlichkeit unserer Webseite verwenden wir das generische Maskulinum. Im Sinne der Gleichbehandlung möchten wir darauf hinweisen, dass sich die Inhalte unserer Webseite an alle Geschlechter richten und keinerlei Wertung enthalten.